I-4 tech corridor

The I-4 tech corridor proposal will suck the life out of economic development in other areas of unincorporated Hillsborough County.

 SouthShore Corporate Park in Ruskin has already been approved for 4.4 MILLION square feet of light industrial space which could employ 10,000 people. The problem is that it is located in the long-ignored I-75 corridor. The I-4 Economic Corridor Study refers to a review of the I-75 Corridor Study and dismisses the area as “primarily residential and retail development” and “Little land remained for higher wage employment.”

The I-75 corridor plan however clearly states “Large tracts of undeveloped land in proximity to I-75’s interchanges make the corridor area location well suited for expansion of the growing research, light industrial and corporate office sectors of the county economy.”

Are we reading the same reports?

<IMHO> Fred Jacobsen

One Response to “I-4 tech corridor”

  1. I’m with you on this one. I live on the urban service boundary line (literally) about 1,000 feet off of 92. We don’t want it and we were forced to include it in the rural area of our community plan. This is in no uncertain terms expansion of the USA without expanding the USA. So the new way of giving special interests what they want is to create an overlay district. Yes, we are really fooled by this – do they really think we are that stupid? I’ve been intimately involved in this (trying to nix it) yet the BOCC and friends are bound and determined to provide us with something we don’t want and something that will absolutely destroy our neighborhoods. Glad to speak you more about this.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

