John Ruskin on drawing

Tampa Tribune’s Donna Koehn (Art class is a tough draw) should not despair at her son’s learning to see, through learning to draw and to use paper and pencil to graphically communicate ideas.

John Ruskin, “patron saint” of Ruskin Florida, wrote one of the earliest guides to drawing.

He observed:

“I would rather teach drawing that my pupils may learn to love nature, than teach them looking at nature that they may learn to draw.

<IMHO> Fred Jacobsen

2 Responses to “John Ruskin on drawing”

  1. First I want to say I enjoyed checking out your blog. I think I need to spend some time reading past posts.

    Second, thank you for the pingbacks, and coming to visit me on the 777man.wordpress.com. I appreciate every person who comes to visit me. Did you see our other blog at http://www.wordpress.com, and the writing contest for charity?

    I am going to be following you, as I do like these quotes of Ruskin. I laughed because I use to live in a small town in Oregon, and at that time I was married to a man who was a City Councilman, and he was contacting the state of Oregon for the City, and the state workers told him that he needed to call Washington, because our town was in Washington. What? Okay we lived about 5 miles from the border of Washington, but our town had always been in the state of Oregon. So we do know the frustration of being misplaced on a map!
    Peace and Harmony,
    Sallyjane

  2. What a beautiful Blog. I love the colours and content and overall feel of it. Lots of beautiful illustrations and things I can relate too as a landscape architect student.

Leave a Reply

